May 2, 2012
Status
Greetings,

This is my first post here. I've really appreciated having this forum as a resource while I've come to the decision to go back to school to pursue a DPT. I've found myself getting hung up on some concerns, so I wanted to throw them out in case anyone has any personal experience in a similar situation, or if they have a sense of how I might be perceived during my application process.

I'm 31 years old and making a career change after having worked for a number of years as an actuary. I passed my actuarial exams, but found the drudgery and meaninglessness of the work to be a bit crushing. My path to pursuing PT is a bit circuitous and this is the source of one of my concerns.

I've been trained and certified in the Feldenkrais Method (an alternative/complementary intervention that's been tremendously helpful in alleviating some serious knee pain of mine). I found the work so incredible that I wanted to teach it for a living, so I left my job at the end of 2010 to pursue doing that. After a year of hacking away at it, and four months of volunteering 1-day-a-week at an outpatient ortho clinic, I've become convinced that I need the background of a PT education, the well-roundedness of PT interventions, and the credibility of PT credentials to responsibly work with the populations I want to work with (and to make a living at it).

So I've made the decision to return to school, but have a couple of concerns

Concern 1: The Feldenkrais Method may be perceived as a flakey thing, and I may be perceived as flakey-by-transitive.

I've spoken with one advisor so far at my top choice school. When I mentioned that I was trained in Feldenkrais there was a long silence and a change to the tone of the conversation. I feared I was being viewed as someone touting a comprehensive background in Tantric Reiki.