Career Insight (advice) please

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wisconsindoctor

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I graduated today with my B.S. degree in Biology. There were over 70 graduates with nursing degrees. I graduated from a small liberal arts college. Over the last year I've decided I don't really want to become a doctor (not because of my GPA, but I'm not in ahh at what a doctor does- I do respect the work they do though), so I'm busy looking into other careers that I'm interested in.

Do any of you know anything about the following careers (I will do research on my own as well).

- Pathologist Assistant

- Hospital administration

I'm also thinking of doing an accelerated BSN that will take about 12-15 months in length.

If I decide to do the hospital administration track, I already have three years of hospital work experience and I can do a masters degree (or B.S. degree) online while I work full-time (these degrees are from reall colleges - example: University of Arkansas Medical Sciences). This way I don't need to take out any loans. I just need to contact the employers to see if I need the B.S. degree or not since I already have a B.S. degree.

I wouldn't mind working as a nurse, but I don't really want to take out more money - but will if have to. The thing about nursing is that it is a rewarding career and you can move all around the country to work. The salary for nursing can be very rewarding as you can do several side jobs while working full-time (example: taking triage calls while working at home at nights or on the weekends, working for law firms, etc).

I'm married, so I don't have to worry about taking out a loan anymore to pay for food and housing.

Any insight would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.