PercutaneousKnowledge

5+ Year Member
Oct 20, 2012
Status
Hello,
Two years ago, I quit my corporate job to pursue my dream of being a physician. My first two years of medical school were amazing - I was inducted in the honor society, top quartile of my class and loving every second of it. Four months ago, during my board preparation, I had a long term relationship fall apart and I began having some strange symptoms after getting a flu shot (I'm not an anti-vaxxer, get your shots!!) . Turns out, I have an autoimmune condition which leaves me incredibly fatigued and unable to walk or stand for long periods of time. I am unable to eat much due to gastroparesis. The worst is a dizziness that has become persistent and gets worse when I exert myself (aka walk or stand). Incredibly, I was able to do pretty well on step 1 under the circumstances (I studied mostly on my back to avoid the fatigue of sitting). Previously, I was interested in general surgery and had no problem standing for 15-16 hours a day - unfortunately that is not a possibility anymore.

My question is, what kind of opportunities are out there for MDs or DOs that are physically disabled and unable to handle the physical capabilities of a full clinic day. For example, do insurance companies typically hire physicians out of medical school? While I certainly would love to do something like family medicine, my autoimmune condition leaves me susceptible to infections and might accelerate (due to the stress of getting over an infection). I suppose an option such as radiology or pathology exists, however, to my knowledge there is still a year of clinical medicine that is required for both (please correct me if I'm wrong.)