• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

badgas

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Mar 17, 2006
Status (Visible)
  1. Resident [Any Field]
Newbie here on anesthesia rotation... starting CA1 in a couple months. I saw a case today that was not all that interesting, but the decision making was. 60 y/o M in for an elective b/l mastectomy for "idiopathic" gynecomastia. PMH of DM, Etoh abuse (still drinks a 12 pack/day), HTN, CAD and chronic renal failure. No DOCUMENTED hx of hep C, cirrhosis, or liver problems. His only labs are a BMP showing BUN 66, Cr 3.4 and a normal H&H. No coags, LFTs, no platelet count. When asked if he's had any bleeding problems in the past, he said that he did back in December when a dialysis cath was placed and he needed a "bunch" of blood transfusions. CRNA calls surgeon to ask if pt/INR is needed. Surgeon says no and they will proceed as scheduled. :eek: I ask the attending anesthesiologist what should be done, and he informs me that as long as the surgeon was informed of things, then you are safe. To make things more complicated, we are at the VA where STAT lab means sometime before next month.