Central venous line practice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Cooker Power

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone ! I am a surgical intern and this is my 3rd month into internship. I have just started placing central lines, in my institution we only use the subclavian approach. My first four attempts were not successful since I couldn't puncture the vein, even though I think I followed all the necessary steps of the procedure.

I was wondering if there is any possible way I can practice placing subclavian lines on my own (not on a real patient). Does anyone have any ideas on how to make a custom simulator of the anatomic landmarks ? I'd welcome any helpful tips. Thank you in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello everyone ! I am a surgical intern and this is my 3rd month into internship. I have just started placing central lines, in my institution we only use the subclavian approach. My first four attempts were not successful since I couldn't puncture the vein, even though I think I followed all the necessary steps of the procedure.

I was wondering if there is any possible way I can practice placing subclavian lines on my own (not on a real patient). Does anyone have any ideas on how to make a custom simulator of the anatomic landmarks ? I'd welcome any helpful tips. Thank you in advance.
Does your institution have a training center? Mine does and they have a subclavian CVC dummy that is somewhat realistic. Maybe inquire about that?

The key in subclavians is 1. entry point 2. aim. It just takes practice but also you must realize since it is blind that not every subclavian is possible due to aberrant anatomy some people will have.

Reactions: 1 user
Does your institution have a training center? Mine does and they have a subclavian CVC dummy that is somewhat realistic. Maybe inquire about that?