Certified Nurse's Aide?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NKMU

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a soon-to-be college graduate planning to apply to med school either this spring or next. I need a job (and some experience) in the meantime. Any thoughts on becoming a certified nurse's aide and working in a nursing home? I think it would be a great way to get some experience in patient care. Has anyone else done this, or do you have any other healthcare-related work ideas for a non-science major who currently has no medical training? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I think it is a very good idea to get some hands on patient experience before going on to school. It exposes you to the health care team, patients, medical terminology and it will give you an idea of what goes on in health care.

All of that said, I'm not sure if a nursing home is the place I'd recommend. I worked as an aide in hospitals as well as nursing homes in my undergrad days. I think (and remember this is strictly my opinion) that working in an acute care setting will expose you to a variety of patient types (from pediatrics to geriatrics), varying degrees of pathology (from acute to chronic), the different specialties (newborn nursery, Emergency department, medical floors), working with a vast array of allied health professionals, and of course residents and attending physicians. Personally, I think that the experience gained in an acute care setting would be the better deal, giving you a chance to view first hand the environment where you will spend your 3rd and 4th years in medical school as well as the major portion of your residency. As always, JMHO.

Best of luck to you! :cool: :cool: :cool: