Chance of landing neuro spot?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Drhappyface

Reaction score
I'm currently a Transitional year resident (my program meets the intern year requirements that neurology pgy2 spots require). Had a chance to work with a neurologist during my EM rotation of 4th year and became interested in it. Did my first elective during my Transitional year and love it. My stats are 226 step 1 and 224 step 2. What are my chances of finding a spot? I want to go to the best program I can regardless of where it is in the country. What are the chances of going directly into a PGY2 spot? Are they difficult to find? Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

You would need to apply to advanced programs. I strongly doubt that a categorical program would take you in but if you did a transitional year then it should be fine for advanced

Members don't see this ad :)
You would need to apply to advanced programs. I strongly doubt that a categorical program would take you in but if you did a transitional year then it should be fine for advanced
Why would it be hard to get a categorical spot? I'm going to be applying to advanced, physcian reserved and categorical spots. I do prefer a advanced or physcian reserved spot.

Why would it be hard to get a categorical spot? I'm going to be applying to advanced, physcian reserved and categorical spots. I do prefer a advanced or physcian reserved spot.
Categorial already has their full class they are accredited for. And since categorical includes the prelim year they dont have room for any more? They can't just take more people there's a whole process to determine how many you can have per patient volume etc. I'm not familiar with many physician reserved spots in Neuro but i focused mainly on midwest and not huge academic places

Reactions: 1 user
Why would it be hard to get a categorical spot?