Chances for medical school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doconstandby

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I am applying to medical school this upcoming cycle, and I feel a little stressed about my statistics. I still need to take my MCAT, but I wanted to see if my GPA is good enough for medical school. I took the bulk of my science classes online in my sophomore year during COVID and family issues, hence the drop in my sophomore year. My university is a medium sized university, with an R2 status, we have a medical school attached to it. I currently have a 3.59 overall GPA and a 3.48 SGPA. I am also an honors student.
Freshman GPA: 3.81
Sophomore GPA: 3.25
Junior GPA: 3.58
Sophomore GPA: 3.69

Shadowing and clinical hours
40 hours- oncology
planning to work in my gap year

Volunteer
100 hours- Charity house
100 hours- volunteer for my sorority dedicating to breast cancer
50 hours- food bank

Leadership
Established and the president of the pre-med organization (2 yrs)
President of MEDLIFE (1 yr) and fundraising officer (1 yr)
Co-organized and was on exec team of dance marathon (1 yr)
elected senator (1 yr) and Secretary (1 yr) of Student government association
300 hours of research; a publication will be added and have done an oral presentation at conference

Members don't see this ad.

People have gotten in with that GPA, although it is below the average matriculant. I'd be much more worried about your clinical experience. You should not apply with 0 hours. Shadowing is counted separately.

Reactions: 1 user
People have gotten in with that GPA, although it is below the average matriculant. I'd be much more worried about your clinical experience. You should not apply with 0 hours. Shadowing is counted separately.
Thank you for your response! I am graduating this year, so I will be taking a gap year while applying this cycle and I will be getting a job as an medical assistant