Chances? MCAT 27, cGPA 3.97, sGPA 3.95

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eizeral

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was an idiot and didn't really study the first time around for the MCAT, and studied for a month straight and was seeing significant improvement on my practice tests. My AAMC 3-11 avg was a 32. However, I got the flu 4 days before I was supposed to take the exam the second time and got the same composite score of 27 (8/10/9); prior score was (7/9/11). To make matters worse, my application wasn't technically complete until my second set of scores were released, which was on 10/15/13.

I went to the University of Delaware (c/o 2013) and was a pre-veterinary medicine and animal biosciences major with a minor in Spanish. I have a cumulative GPA of 3.97, and a science GPA of 3.95. I am also Mexican. I have a lot of experience shadowing and volunteering in animal hospitals, but only 60 hrs shadowing in a human hospital. I did research for a semester in college. I also now work as an ED scribe in a hospital and have acquired around 300 hrs doing that so far--something which unfortunately did not make it into my application since I was hired in August.

What do you think my chances are? I'm thinking I'll probably have to retake the MCAT and do my prep all over again but this time for a few months and then reapply. I think my application is probably too late to be considered, especially when coupled with my crap MCAT scores.

I had pretty good recommendations, but only applied to 1 DO school (the one for my state) since I did not have any recs from a physician.

Sorry for the wall of text, guys. Any thoughts would be much appreciated. Thank you!

Edit: I am also a Delaware resident, which has no state school, but instead has seats reserved by Jefferson and PCOM.

I applied to a lot of schools but didn't end up doing the secondaries for even half of them because of my crap mcat.