Chances of getting into post bac programs/ question about included classes

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

soapbrain

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm looking at this giant list of post bac pre-med programs and I'm just kind of lost. Undergrad cumulative GPA was 3.5, upper division 3.6, GRE 1340, 5 on the GRE writing, currently a research assistant (it's not super sciencey, data collection= interviews), and I volunteer as a crisis counselor. Oh also I'm a registered nurse with a bachelor of science in nursing. Which schools would you think about applying to if you were me? Are there any programs that you think are kind of a scam and should be avoided?

It seems like a lot of these programs don't include some of the necessary or highly recommended classes, which worries me. Certain programs have no calculus, or no genetics, or only one semester of bio... generally speaking, if you are in one of these programs and need to take an additional class, will they allow it?

Members don't see this ad.

What region are you interested in, or would you be willing to relocate? I did some work for the Scripps College Post-Baccalaureate Premedical Program, and your stats seem solid to me. If your personal statement tells a compelling story as to why definitely medicine (and why now), and if you interview well, I think you'd be a strong applicant.

The problem with taking some recommended classes like biochem and genetics is that they build on other material. In the 12-month program at Scripps, your schedule is full just with the introductory sciences. Other alum took stats, biochem and genetics at Cal Poly Pomona and through UCLA Extension during their glide years. You might be able to take additional classes if you opt for the 2-year program, though. One woman in the postbac class above me took more advanced courses during her second year in the program.