Chances? Should I be doing something?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

frenchyn

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I do not know my school's ranking...below 50% I think?

Anyway, I am interested in surgery. I love to do procedure and things with my hands, but I want to wait until I take step 1 to see if I have a good score or chance before I really explore surgery further and commit.

But I was ranked 10th of my class and will be the lead author of a research paper. Also, I am the leader of couple interest groups. I am in my second year right now and I want to focus on step 1. If I have a decent step 1 to match into surgery, will it be too late for me to build up my resume for surgery residency?

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

1. Focus on getting 230+ on the Step 1. Review your materials from M1 so you retain the information. Start doing questions now. Google the NRMP match data for more detailed info on scores and match rates.
  2. Get good grades in the rest of your basic science courses if you can, although as long as you pass everything grades don't matter too much (class rank does help though)
  3. The school you come from isn't that important, unless you are an IMG
  4. Get honors in your M3 general surgery rotation

Optional: