Chances with my low GPA (no MCAT yet). Advice please!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hwinger

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 28yo white female. (yes, we all know it matters!) I graduated from college in 2008. Early on, I screwed up and drastically hurt my GPA. In 2004 I failed two classes. Had a D the semester before that and the semester after. I took an entire semester off and got my mind together. Initially, I did the "major of the month program" for the first couple of years and took a lot of random classes. I ended up graduating with a BA in political science and a minor in chemistry.

My overall GPA is 2.97. I'm not entirely sure about my science because I don't have my chem 1 class on my transcript (transfer), but I'm guessing about 3.10.

Some grades from science/math classes:
Spring 04- physics 1- C
Summer 05- Calc 2- D (Calc 1 was an A in 2003)
Spring 07- Bio 1 I got a B, gen chem 2 I got an A-
Summer 07- Orgo I I got an A-, Orgo lab and orgo problems class both A's.
Fall 07- Bio 2 B, Orgo 2 B-, orgo problems A, Physics 2 B+
Spring 2008- Orgo chem lab B+, an independent organic research class- A

So basically, my grades early on were pretty miserable including 2 Fs in 2004 from classes I did not complete because of some medical problems and 2 Ds (one in Chinese and one in calc 2). But after that semester off, my grades got much better.

Before college and during college, I shadowed and worked for surgeons. I am now working as an ER tech. I have also worked as an EMT for a 911 service and I have been a volunteer firefighter for 3 years. Previously, I was not dedicated to go to medical school, but now I am and I worry about my previous grades. Overall, I have about 4-5 years in healthcare as EMT, ER tech, medical assistant.