Chances..

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

babycapybara

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Another non-trad here wondering what my chances are!

I'm 36 years old, which sounds old but really isn't. I run and do triathlons and this has been one of my major focuses over the years. I'm a massage therapist and also volunteer in the local hospital. I've taught english abroad, and lived and worked in several different countries, I speak several languages...I really want to go to a school that has some sort of focus on international medicine.

I just took the MCAT, got a 32, which is good but will not necessarily make up for my 3.28 GPA. I did pretty badly in my first degree, basically because I was unfocused, and had no clue what I wanted to do with myself, I think my GPA for that was just under a 3.0, but from a top liberal arts college.
In the past 2 years, I've completed my pre-med reqs plus some extras with a 3.95 (stupid A-) science GPA which dragged my total GPA up to 3.28.

What schools, if any, might look favorably on an applicant like me:eek:

Members don't see this ad.

They will look most at your recent coursework so I think you have an excellent chance.

I would recommend the following non-trad friendly schools:

UChicago
Loyola
Case Western
Creighton
USF
UVermont
NY Medical College

Also worth applying to your state schools.

They will look most at your recent coursework so I think you have an excellent chance.

I would recommend the following non-trad friendly schools:

OP - see the recent thread in which many posters have suggested that one shouldn't really limit themselves to "non-trad friendly schools". I agree with vtucci that your state school is usually a good starting point. But with your stats, I think you will get looked at at many of the schools outside of the top 20. Apply broadly and to many.

Members don't see this ad :)