Changing careers for DVM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vanmrm

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am a Canadian who originally planned to become a veterinarian but ended up somewhere else along the way. I'm THIS CLOSE to finishing a masters degree in natural resource management and planning and I have a few years of work experience in the field, but I really feel like I am launching my career this spring. I find the issues in this field of work very fascinating and I am passionate about it, but I am finding doing the actual work does not fit with the lifestyle I want and does not fit my work style. Entry level jobs which are outdoors do not pay well, involve camp shifts, and you are working in all kinds of conditions. Jobs which are more desk oriented pay better ($60-90k), but also often require extensive travel, meetings, and you are tied to a computer.

After working in many different positions and feeling constantly dissatisfied, I'm coming back to vet med. I am looking for a career which pays well ($80k/yr+), is more 'task oriented' (i.e. I have tasks to complete each day and I feel accomplished at the end of the day), offers decent work life balance, and does not tie me to a desk. I'm interested in mixed practice but that could always change.

I have all the pre-reqs needed for veterinary school and a great GPA and I have years of work experience with horses. My plan for the next year is to start down my current career path, but work or volunteer at a vet clinic to get some experience in that setting and a reference for my application.

My questions for you:

Are you happy with your choice to go into vet med?
Did any of you change careers and are you happy you did so? (I'm only 25 but I've always wanted to be settled into my career before 30...)
Do you have any advice for someone who is wanting to shift into vet med from another career?