Changing Major: Biochem to Biology (Very imp.)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

comp

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I really need some help. I'm a junior and my major is Biochem. In my senior year, I've to take Physical Chemistry to fulfill Biochem requirements. However, I've heard that students find P. Chem course very hard and end up getting C's and lower B's. Now I'm worried that if I take this course (which I have to as Biochem major), it might lower my gpa. And so I'm thinking to change my major to Biology. With Bio major, I can take courses like immunology, endocrinology etc., which will be helpful in MCATs and in medical school.

Do you think that med school will look at it negatively that I have changed my major from Biochem to Bio in my junior year of college?

However, my gpa is around 3.6

Any advise will be greatly appreciated.

[This message has been edited by comp (edited 06-16-2000).]

Members don't see this ad.

Biology Majors are a dime a dozen and grades aren't everything in life. I know several physicians who gained acceptance to med
school with gpa's lower than yours. (They matriculated in the early 90s.) (and no, they weren't minority applicants) What's more important nowadays, it seems, are grade trends, as opposed to gpa's, but that's just from information i've gathered online and by chatting with professionals in the field.

Admissions committees will also take a
look at your mcat scores, which include
a section on verbal reasoning and another
on writing. You should perhaps focus
more of your time on those two, judging
from your post, rather than changing your
academic regimen to satisfy what you think
admissions committees are looking for, as
they can change from one year to another.

Best of Luck.

-Where there's a will, there's a way.