Chemical Engineering vs. Pharmacy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dcsmith1212

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I know that similar threads have been posted on this site, but I wanted to post one with my personal background and concerns.
And in advance I'd like to say that I'm obviously not leaving this decision up to strangers on the internet; I'm simply get different opinions and viewpoints on the matter.

So for some background:
I'm a sophomore in highschool, and I have been interested in Chemical Engineering for quite a while now. I am fascinated by why things happen and why the world works like it does. Lately, though, I've found a new fascination with Pharmacy, with drugs and how they work in the body. My favorite subject is Chemistry, and it is to no surprise, seeing as both careers involve it. Specifically, I enjoy organic chemistry (although the only organic I've come into contact with is the nomenclature of hydrocarbons and their functional groups).

My questions and concerns:
The two choices I am stuck between are getting a MS in Chemical Engineering, or getting a BS along with a Pharm.D. Any help on which Bachelor's I should get before Pharmacy school (if I take that path) would be great. Chemical Engineering? Chemistry? Pharmaceutical Sciences? Biochemistry? Would any specific major be any more helpful than others? And if so, in what ways?