Child Psychiatry Questions?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RebBT

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am a high school student and I am considering child psychiatry for my future career path. I was hoping to ask people currently or finished with the process of becoming one a few questions if possible.
1. First, Are you happy with your career choice? Do you have any regrets about it?
2. Why did you choose the field?
3. What qualities do you think are best for someone to be a successful child psychiatrist?
4. What did you major in for undergrad? Is it better to major in biology or psychology? (I know that it doesn't really matter as long as you complete the pre-med requirements, but in regards to preparation for the field).
5. How significantly does undergrad play a role in the application process to medical school? (Is it better to go to a small undergrad not-as-widely-known college and be at the top of your class or go to a prestigious university and only be in the middle of the pack?)
6. Any other advice?
Even if you can only answer one question, I would greatly appreciate it! Thank You!

Members don't see this ad.