PhD/PsyD Child Trauma Ph.D Programs/Mentors

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PsyChildTrauma

Reaction score
I am currently a masters student in a clinical psychology program. I plan to apply to doctoral programs in December and am hoping to get some recommendations for doctoral programs/mentors focusing on child trauma. I am open to clinical or counseling psychology Ph.D programs, for me the fit with the PI is most important. Specifically, I am interested in the impact of child trauma on emotion regulation and factors contributing to resiliency. Thank you in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Kate McLaughlin at Harvard is a fantastic mentor. Not sure she's taking students next year, but you can email her and ask if it's not available on their website.

Members don't see this ad :)
When I was looking for programs, I started building my list by looking at published papers (the more recent, the better) based on my research interests. I then looked up those authors and their faculty bios, moving on to the program as a whole to see if there were other faculty in the department who also had similar research interests. I also had an Excel spreadsheet where I would start adding those PI and program names into.

Reactions: 1 user
When I was looking for programs, I started building my list by looking at published papers (the more recent, the better) based on my research interests. I then looked up those authors and their faculty bios, moving on to the program as a whole to see if there were other faculty in the department who also had similar research interests. I also had an Excel spreadsheet where I would start adding those PI and program names into.
Thanks for the recommendation! I have a Excel sheet I’ve been adding to based on google searches and publications, but I figured it wouldn’t hurt to ask around too.

Have you looked at this? Amazon product