choices btw NYCOM and LECOM?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

luckymed

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Acceptances to both NYCOM and LECOM? Any advices on which one to pick in term of academic education and residency? I am a NY resident. Any info will be appreciated. Thanx in advanced

Members don't see this ad.

depends what you want..... i'm a 4th year at nycom.
if you want to stay in ny, go to nycom, but you might like the change of being in a new place, where you get to meet new people, and you are not bothered by family or friends. because when you have to study, you dont' want your fam/friends bother you to go out , etc...
it could be a nice change to leave...
i know alot changed at nycom, so i dont' know how it is now, but when i was there, i knew someone who went to lecom and they loved it.
stay or go? up to you.. i recommend going to lecom.

sig,

Im interested in your opinion of NYCOM as a school. Sounds like you may have wished you would have gotten away from NY when you had the chance. Im from NC and have been accepted and am just trying to get some feedback from NYCOM students about how they have enjoyed, or not, their time at NYCOM. Any feedback is appreciated.

Members don't see this ad :)
well... nycom as a school.. things have changed since i was in academic part of nycom, not clinicals.
when i was there... test were every monday, with omt labs mon or wed, pretty much every week. the lectures were pretty bad.... the hand outs were all that was needed, they would be taken at the begining of class, and you would go home and study.
but from what i heard from recent 2nd years, tests have become blocks, no tests for a couple of weeks/month then a week of tests. i dont' know which is better, since i only had hte first, but the people now seem to not mind it to much.