Choosing Schools...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hopper

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi-
How can I determine the reputation of a school aside from US News rankings? Is there any one source that reports the success rate of students on the boards (for each school)? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

US News is not an extremely reliable source for choosing a med school. I'm in 4th year of med school now and in the process of interviewing for residency and it's getting clearer what you need to increase your chances of a good career after graduation. First of all, it helps to pick a program in a state or region you would like to practice in. Your chances will increase getting a good residency in that during the course of the 4 years of school you'll work with people who have trained or have connections with nearby residency programs. And "connections" are often more important than grades in some fields. Also, if it is a good school that you've heard of (a place with a name like "Duke" or "Michigan") and a descent reputation for medical training/research, chances are you'll be just as well trained and sought after as you would if you trained at Johns Hopkins or Harvard.

Board scores are important. So I would call programs and ask how there graduates do on average for the USMLE step 1 and 2. But don't forget...going to extremely competetive school will increase your chances of a low class rank and low clinical grades. Going to a Big 10 school for example will definately give you solid training at a nationally respectable program, and your chances of a good class rank and clinical performance will generally be better than at a lot of smaller, private schools.

Hope that helps...

MD-student has given you an eminently sensible answer.