CL psych and brain failure

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Cath Up

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a resident that has done a little over 3 months of CL. I really try to read on medical topics as they come up so as not to lose all my medical knowledge, but it’s hard. I am definitely no diagnostic genius, unfortunately.

I am fascinated by delirium, especially the absolutely wacky incompatible realities that patients can report while delirious (e.g., one pt telling me we are hiding from a wind storm in an office building downtown, and that we are in a hospital). But also, I have become extremely frustrated by it. There are sometimes plausible etiologies like uti, uremia, hepatic encephalopathy, surgery. But often- nothing specific. Just a patient with a ton of comorbidities and frailty, no egregious opioid/bzd/histamine/anticholinergic/cns depressant burden. I sometimes go looking for zebras and have never found one. For these patients, CL psych is consulted, and I can recommend a laundry list of solid measures to help, but it feel generic. I am not solving the mystery, and I have no certainty about what is actually causing the brain to fail- no idea when or how to be certain when there are reliably 5 reasonably explanative subacute issues happening all at once for a patient.

Is this what CL psychiatry is like? Are people out there actually figuring out the most likely precipitants?