MD Clerkship Grades for IM - Hopeful Heme/Onc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hawke97

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone!
I wanted to inquire about people's thoughts on my specific situation. At my school there is H/HP/P/F. I'm not sure of the distributions but I know they made it harder this year by increasing the threshold at my school. I'm an MS2 MD student and I'm interested in heme/onc and so want to be able to at least get into an academic IM residency that has an associated fellowship program. I'm not shooting for Ivy league or anything super prestigious just something that gets me where I need to go. We are currently in our first clerkship block (my school starts clerkships 2nd year). After finishing pediatrics, I was one point away from high pass despite doing above average on the shelf. I wanted to know how much the difference between HP/P makes a difference when pursuing this career path? This question is for my most recent P (pediatrics) and for clerkship grades more generally. I will obviously try to do the best I can, I just want to get an idea of what are good benchmarks for this career path.
Thank you for your time in advance, and feel free to tell me I'm worrying too much if you think that's the case.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Nobody is going to care that you got a P in your peds rotation. Obviously getting at least HP on IM would be good, but there are so many academic IM programs that assuming you're coming from a US MD school it is basically impossible to not match somewhere academic unless you have a red flag somewhere in your app. Obviously the better the program you get into, the better your chances for an eventual heme/onc match.