Clinical pharmacy......is it a dream?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GreyFox2002

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an entering P1 student, and like most entering PharmD students, I dream of becoming anything but a retail pharmacist. This isn't a knock on retail pharmacists. After all, they are the highest paid for a reason. Unfortunately, the reasons that I have read about, heard about, and seen, makes retail pharmacy less enticing to me.

Suppose I am willing to take the 15k annual paycut, plus lose the signing bonus, to practice clinical pharmacy. First of all, is there a big difference in benefits to clinical pharmacy? Secondly, is it difficult to find positions in clinical pharmacy, in terms of availability or competitiveness for positions/residencies? Is clinical pharm not all cracked up to what it really is? Is there a future for this part of the field, and is there a possibility for decent salary growth for the position in the future?

Thanks for your advice.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm an entering P1 student, and like most entering PharmD students, I dream of becoming anything but a retail pharmacist. This isn't a knock on retail pharmacists. After all, they are the highest paid for a reason. Unfortunately, the reasons that I have read about, heard about, and seen, makes retail pharmacy less enticing to me.

Suppose I am willing to take the 15k annual paycut, plus lose the signing bonus, to practice clinical pharmacy. First of all, is there a big difference in benefits to clinical pharmacy? Secondly, is it difficult to find positions in clinical pharmacy, in terms of availability or competitiveness for positions/residencies? Is clinical pharm not all cracked up to what it really is? Is there a future for this part of the field, and is there a possibility for decent salary growth for the position in the future?

Thanks for your advice.