"Clinical" volunteer experience, research experience, EMT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sharona1121

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi folks,

I am looking into getting some extra experience and was hoping to get some advice / thoughts from ppl...

I am interested in getting some clinical volunteer experience or medical research experience. Any ideas on how to go about getting this?

I have looked at a bunch of hospital websites but it seems like most of the hospital volunteer positions are not "clinical" per se... they are talking to families in waiting rooms, relaying information from one desk to another, wheeling patients around etc. Am I incorrect in assuming the above is not considered "clinical experience?"

As a bit of background, as an undergraduate, I did a lot of volunteer work with health focused after school programs that took place in hospitals. They involved collaboration with doctors, working with patients of those doctors, working with their families etc... basically, I have a fair amount of volunteer experience related to health under my belt and am looking for more "medical/clinical" volunteer experiences (for lack of better words). I saw that a fair number of hospitals have hard core programs in the ER department but it seems like these are geared towards undergraduate pre-med students.

Anyone have any thoughts on what I should do, what I should be looking for and how to go about finding this? Do you think, given my health related volunteer experience I should try to get exposure to research? I have the normal restraints of a workign professional... (work 7am to 6pm).

I also was wondering what you guys thought of getting EMT training and certification. I think this could be interesting and perhaps after certification