cold calling

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here is a question that I haven't seen posted and couldn't find via search.

What is the best way to approach cold calling a practice? I am at a "big name" place for residency/fellowship and I'd like to investigate practices that are several states away in a more rural area closer to where I grew up. These are places that I'd like to work, but would be unlikely to call the program with an open position just because it is several states away. Should I just find a contact number for the practice via google, call up whoever answers (probably a secretary, etc), and essentially say "hey I am 2121115. I am a pathology resident at X program and I'd like see if you guys will be looking for a new pathologist anytime soon. who should I speak to about this"?

Members don't see this ad.

I HATE cold calls. Even worse the random spam mails from FMGs (note: some PD from upstate NY has given out my name and I keep getting random CVs from the same programs...).

That said, you want to go back to a rural area. I would advise you to find out the pathologists who are there, call em up and take them out for drinks to get "career advice". Slip into the conversation you really want to come back to the area at time X.

Its interesting, when you make someone part of your success story by sitting and chatting and taking the time to get to know them, they will help you.

I would also add that it is not always advisable to immediately go and contact the guy/gal who runs the department - they might blow you off. You can have more success by contacting one of the "regular" pathologists (one who might have more in common with your specific interests, for example, or your background), who may have more time to talk with you and if they like you, can put in a good word for you.