College freshman - where can I learn how to get into top tier medical schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

okarin

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a rising freshman interested in majoring in neuroscience and specializing in endocrinology. Can some people please share resources where I can learn more about how to get into a top tier med school? Some questions I have include:
  1. What activities are helpful to get into a top tier med school?
  2. What resources are available for preparing for the MCAT and when should I start studying to get as high a score as possible?
  3. What will make my application stand out?

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

1. Start using the search function
2. Easily find the answers to above questions

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile app

Reactions: 5 users
1. Start using the search function
2. Easily find the answers to above questions

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile app
Thanks for the quick response! I tried using the search function, but I couldn't find more general answers to these broad questions. I could only find specific answers to questions about specific activities. It would be a big help if some forum members could share particular resources to learn more generally about how to get into a good med school / info about activities / MCAT prep. I was hoping that maybe there would be some general posts to help inform students who are just getting started on their pre-med experience! If you know of any of these kinds of posts please link me to them. :)

Members don't see this ad :)
skill one - learn to be a good internet searcher...

its all out there on sdn...break it down into smaller searches and compile it all and post it for others

go to a top undergrad
get a great gpa 3.8+, be consistent, no pre-reqs in summer at cc
volunteer in community long term
do research