Columbia and Cornell ... places to stay

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kuhlguy

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey guys ...

so im going to be interviewing at cornell on nov 7 and columbia on nov 8 ... im flying into jfk on nov 6 .... since cornell and columbia are close to each other (relatively) and since both arent offering student hosts (am i correct?) then should i just pick a hotel thats in the middle of the two???? any suggestions on where i should stay ... this is my first time to NYC so I'm totally clueless ... any help would be much appreciated!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Columbia actually does have interview hosts if you email Renee asking about it, though staying in Bard Hall would be pretty cramped (you'll see on the tour). Haven't been to Mt Sinai but they may as well. If you want space, I would suggest staying at the International House, which is on 123rd street and a short subway ride up to Columbia (168th). It's not a spectacular neighborhood, but nicer than further uptown, and it's close to the restaurants and shops surrounding the main Columbia campus on 116th.

Members don't see this ad :)
They actually BOTH have hosting programs. Email Cornell for a list - for some reason they didn't send it with my stuff, but did send it to others??? So email admissions for a host. Same with Columbia. This will save you a TON of money.