Columbia: Top 10??

Discussion in 'Anesthesiology' started by MDHopefully, Nov 18, 2005.

1. MDHopefully

MDHopefully New Member

Is COlumbia a Top 10 program in the nation?? I think it's certainly the best in NYC. thoughts??

2. Leto

Leto Junior Member
    5+ Year Member

Full Disclosure- I am a graduate of Columbia P&S

I think Columbia is certainly one of the top programs in the country, but whether a program is designated "top 10" shouldn't be that crucial compared to other factors like being comfortable living in NYC or fitting in with your classmates. You will get great training from great teachers with plenty of opportunities for research along the way at Columbia. Of course, this can be said about a lot of programs across the country. In fact, when I was on the interview trail last year, many fellow applicants I met were not interviewing at Columbia primarily because of NYC.

But as far as within NYC, I would have to agree with you that Columbia is #1. I want to stress that this is my OPINION, and no amount of flaming is going to change it. It's academic reputation is the strongest if you're into that sort of thing. The new Babies Hospital offering a plethora of Peds cases is certainly a standout point. Residents from Cornell actually rotated through Columbia to get their required Peds cases (can't confirm if this is still the case). Does Washington Heights suck? Yeah, it kinda does compared with midtown, but virtually all Columbia residents live in the Upper West or Morningside anyway. Finally consider this historical testimonal- in like the last 20 years or so, not one Columbia grad has matched at any other New York program for anesthesia while every year Columbia take residents from Sinai, Cornell, NYU, etc. A PD at another NYC program first pointed this out.

3. jc237

jc237 Senior Member
    5+ Year Member