Combined BS/DO Programs. Any good?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

amanda29

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I don't know if this is the correct place to ask this but here goes:
I was just wondering:
*what DO schools offer the combined programs
*what is the best combined DO program
*how difficult is it for OOS to get in
*how difficult it is for anyone to get in

and some more questions:
*how many hours of volunteering should I do a week to get noticed in the application
*how do I begin research
*am I thinking too early(I am a sophomore in high school)
*would working as a CNA help me on my application(Im getting certified this summer)
*Would taking PSEO classes help me in any way?(all senior year I am taking them since I could graduate at the end of 11th grade)

Any responses are appreciated!:D

Members don't see this ad.

What schools actually have combined programs? Edit: Just searched ... apparently TCOM, Western (see a thread a few below), NYCOM, CCOM, have program. For a more comprehensive look, I suggest checking out each med school and then looking into each college. That's probably how I would go about doing it. TCOM is most instate texas residents so I'm sure their linkage probably would be difficult to obtain to get into a texas state college (University of North Texas and the University of Texas at Dallas).

First off if you know you want to go DO then do a combined program, just my vote. Not all schools have links so you'd have to be at a school that has a link otherwise its just applying with everyone else. Most BS/DO programs have you apply while you are in high school. YOU ARE NOT THINKING TOO EARLY! I commend you for being so proactive in your thinking and curiousity in nature is a good thing.