COMbined spinal epidurals

Discussion in 'Anesthesiology' started by Jeff05, May 6, 2008.

1. Jeff05

Jeff05 Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    does anyone do combined frequently - if so, why?

does anyone rarerly/never do combined - f so, why?

2. rsgillmd

rsgillmd ASA Member
    7+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    We do them frequently at my hospital for L&D. Some people claim they like the confirmation that CSF gives them. My main reason is for the quick relief, because we have a lot of women who ask for epidural late.

Also for big women for mult. repeat C/S -- epidural as backup.

3. cchoukal

cchoukal Senior Member
    Moderator 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    I'm just a resident, but I generally try not to do them for laboring women because I think it obscurs (well, delays) my ability to determine how well the catheter is working. If the lady ultimately needs a c/s, it's nice to know ahead of time if I can count on the catheter (since they all are fat and have dicey airways).

4. coprolalia

coprolalia Bored Certified
    2+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    Ditto. It's a way to get a 100% effaced, 8-9 cm, 0 station late presenter comfortable quickly. We end-up doing about 1:10 CSE to regular epidural.

-copro

5. bostonblaz

bostonblaz ASA Member
    7+ Year Member

Attending Physician