Complaints About SDN

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by ouzoo, Jun 16, 2008.

1. ouzoo

Pre-Medical
    I started using SDN for the interview feedback and when that was no longer useful to me I began searching and reading the forums. While at first I found surfing them to be fun and somewhat enlightening more and more I feel they are plain annoying. As a future osteopathic student I am always disappointed to enter the DO forum and see threads such as “DO vs. MD” or “Issues about the DO degree” or “DO degree name change.” My favorite is “I’m a complete idiot and don’t know anything about medical school or the profession I wish to enter. Will someone hold my hand and walk me across the bridge that spans the enormous gap in my ability to think or do anything for myself? Sorry for request but if you can’t tell I’m a huge pantiewaste.” While these represent only a few of the threads that surface on SDN I have problems with others as well. Many pre-meds have questions such as “should I apply this year” and along the same lines “what are my chances?” More often than not the respondent is some self righteous, egotistical, pretentious prick who, standing on their pedestal, finds their advice helpful when they tell a prospective applicant that his or her 3.8 gpa and 32 MCAT is mediocre at best and applying is a waste of time. If such respondents were capable of seeing past their own noses they would understand that many people ask such questions because they are seeking encouragement; in the med school application process the last thing one needs is to be told that their applications are inadequate. As long as a person has put into their application their full potential there exists no harm in applying and it should be encouraged. In closing, while I understand there will always be those who initiate ridiculous threads about the DO degree any person with a wisp of dignity should refuse to respond as they are degrading to the profession.