Feb 8, 2021
Status (Visible)
  1. Resident [Any Field]
Hello to everyone!

So I graduated recently and got a position in internal medicine in Germany. So far, so good.
But I am just utterly confused about what to do with my life and career. I hope a discussion here could help.

Throughout med school I have been fascinated with many specialties, starting from ob/gyn, internal medicine (mostly endocrinology and nephrology), anesthesiology, abdominal surgery, genetics, radiology. I even did two projects for a science medicine in genetics. Each time we rotated I was in love with a different specialty but then moving on, I was interested in something else, you get the point. However, I was also trying to see the cons to each one of them, so I could choose wisely, or at least I hoped I could.
So I decided to go for internal medicine as I didn't know what to choose, and it seemed like a good idea at the time. Also in med school we did mostly internal medicine and surgery rotations. But now having the position I am asking myself is this really what I want to do with my life longterm. Long shifts, night shifts, weekends working and so much paperwork. So you end up utterly exhausted.

As a person I am outgoing, friendly, I like having time for my interests and I would like to have time for my family and kids one day. I also love traveling, did two internships abroad during my time in med school, gaining useful international medical experience. I know such internships would be hard to find during my residency, but I would like to have this opportunity.