Considering anesthesiology more. What would my chances be? Am I making the decision for the right reasons?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CuriousMDStudent

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

M3 at a T15 medical school on his second rotation. I am still learning how to break the high pass/ honors threshold. However, I am getting a lot more interested in anesthesiology and I think it's my top choice right now. My first question is: If I were to get high passes and some honors during third year with a good STEP 2 score (240-250), can I match well in anesthesiology? I aim to match in NYC as that's where I'm from and where me and my partner want to end up, Cleveland because that's why my partner lives currently, and any big city. I've made connections with the anesthesia people at my medical school and talked to the program directors and they stated that as long as I get a good STEP 2 score and have a solid app, I should be set for anesthesia. What do you all think?

My second question is whether you all think I'm choosing the specialty for the right reasons/am a good fit? When I started medical school, I wanted to do ortho, but during my second year, I was intrigued by anesthesiology after a workshop. For me, anesthesia beat ortho in that I felt pharmacology and physiology were more interesting to me than MSK, the lifestyle is better as it's shiftwork and more vacation, the residency match is much less of a worry, I would still get to do procedures, but they're much less intense and stressful compared to that of ortho, and I felt I fit in with the anesthesiology people more than the ortho people.