Considering Changes to Reapply for Next Year - Feedback Please

Apr 5, 2010
Status
MD/PhD Student
I graduated from a small liberal arts school in 2009. I had a 3.53 GPA but AMCAS lists my GPA as a 3.37 due to retaking a few classes (one of which I had an F). My own personal story is long and unnecessary, but suffice it to say my Junior year I was severely depressed and did quite poorly. I retook many of my classes my senior year (after I had managed my issues) and finished quite strong.

My AMCAS GPA's
[F-3.75 (34 Credits); So-3.40 (31 Credits); J-2.26 (23 Credits); Se-3.70 (37 Credits)]

I graduated and got a job at a top research hospital as a research technician in a cancer research lab where I've really grown. I have a publication (I'll be a fourth author...) forthcoming actually. I have been able to shadow my PI in the clinic with patients on a couple of occasions and I have some EC's from college and high school.

I was unable to study as much as I wanted but I was able to get a 33S on the MCAT (11V-11PS-11BS). I was happy with this but obviously it's not stellar enough to outshine my GPA problems.

I applied to MD/PhD programs as this was my first love and I also knew that adcoms will consider you for an MD if you are rejected by the school's MD/PhD committee.

My problem is I applied late. I volunteer a week with my parents every summer together with a international cancer conference in Sweden... All that combined with my perfectionism and I didn't submit until 08/30/10. I was certified by the end of the month, and I completed my secondaries throughout October. I realize this is WAAAAY late and doesn't help me at all. I really was unaware of the necessity of early submission.

I have one interview at RWJMS coming up, and I have recieved MD/PhD rejections from a few schools. Except Wayne State, no school has rejected me yet, but I'm starting to think I've been silently rejected.

Long story short, I want to start thinking about improvements for next year.