Considering PT school, really need advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GradGirl90

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all!

I am really glad I found this site. I'm hoping you can all be of assistance. So I have an undergrad in psychology\minored in criminal justice (3.32 GPA) and afterwards I did the stupid young mistake of jumping to a graduate program just because i really wanted to study it. I thought i would find tons of job offers but i couldn't be more wrong. I pursued an MS in criminal justice thinking i could become a crime analyst, forensics tech, researcher, etc. I graduated this past August (3.78 GPA) and it's SO HARD finding a decent entry level job without a crap ton of experience necessary. I don't want to be a cop, so that's completely off the table. I feel so stupid and stuck. :,(

I actually wanted to be a PT before i got my MS! I have around 105 volunteer hours from an outpatient clinic in Florida. I was convinced it would be a very rewarding career path, however, i did not want to put in the extra community college prereq's to get into the program. I had just received my BA in psych and i thought it would be a better decsion to just get a different graduate degree altogether so i fell back on my second interest, criminal justice. It may seem odd to be interested in PT and CJ but that's just me. I've always been good at "hard" sciences but tended to be more interested in the social sciences. Now i've learned the hard way i should've sucked it up and gone to community college for the PT prereq courses :( I should've pursued my first thought.