considering pt

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

auguy13

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

I am a recent microbio grad (solid gpa) from my state university. I have been accepted to medical school, but decided to take a year off due to second thoughts/burnout etc. I realized I have been pushing myself in that direction and wonder if my heart lies in it. So I am taking a step back and taking a year in the "real world" before taking out the enormous debt that is a medical education (of any sort).. In the meantime I plan to work some menial job, take the gre, and explore other healthcare options (better late than never?). I recently had a sports related injury and did a round of pt (which I seriously enjoyed and it was a tremendous help). It was basically medically related working out - combining my two interests :). The lifestyle seems great and the pay seems adequate (maybe not to a physician's salary but money can't buy happiness). The patient bond seemed incredible. I like geriatrics, athletes, and the disabled (I volunteer at a summer camp for the physically handicap). I was just wondering if any of you had any advice (other than shadowing a pt which I plan to do). I already have all the pre-reqs minus one or two psych classes which would be easy to obtain. I guess I don't really have much of an idea of the science behind therapy is my main question. Do you have to particularly like physics to enjoy therapy, as I am more of a bio-systems kind of guy. I dreaded physics, but made A's. I have not taken any exercise science or kinesiology courses (but they aren't required for the programs I have researched).

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.