Counseling Psychology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

joelc915

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I will graduate next fall with a BSW with a minor in Psychology. My current GPA is 3.2 and I'm studying for the GRE's. Before going to college I worked in the mental health field conducting group counseling sessions with my community college professor, working in drug rehab centers and in group homes for the deveopmentally disabled. I'm interested in pursuing a Ph.D in Counseling Psychology as I would like to counsel patients in a private practice, but I would also like to hold a research position if at all possible. My question is what are my chances of getting into an APA accredited program? What can I do to increase my chances (master's or MSW first, RA position, etc?) Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

I will graduate next fall with a BSW with a minor in Psychology. My current GPA is 3.2 and I'm studying for the GRE's. Before going to college I worked in the mental health field conducting group counseling sessions with my community college professor, working in drug rehab centers and in group homes for the deveopmentally disabled. I'm interested in pursuing a Ph.D in Counseling Psychology as I would like to counsel patients in a private practice, but I would also like to hold a research position if at all possible. My question is what are my chances of getting into an APA accredited program? What can I do to increase my chances (master's or MSW first, RA position, etc?) Thanks in advance.

What's the reason for your focus on Counseling Psych? Nothing in your post suggests precluding Clinical to me.

What's the reason for your focus on Counseling Psych? Nothing in your post suggests precluding Clinical to me.