Aug 13, 2016
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi there SDN, I'm an incoming freshman. I want to be able to take my MCAT after my sophomore year.

I got a 4 on my Biology AP, so I'm going to claim credit for it.

Freshman 1st semester: Chemistry I
Freshman 2nd semester: Chemistry II & Mechanics
Freshman summer: Organic Chemistry I
Sophomore 1st semester: Organic Chemistry II
Sophomore 2nd semester: Biochemistry I

My junior and senior year I'll be taking upper level sciences classes (genetic, molecular, w/e)

Do you guys think my plan is alright?

Also, would medical schools look any differently at my summer OChem credit if I did it at a community college vs at a university? There's a university like 30 minutes from my house, and the tuition for the hours would be higher but I wouldn't mind if a community college was looked down at.

Also during summer, I should do lecture and lab, right?

Sorry for rambling,
Thanks!

OP
R
Aug 13, 2016
Status
Pre-Medical
Why?

Edit: Should add I did this too, but because I was going to be abroad as a Junior.
I want to get it done as soon as possible so I can focus my summers after on research and volunteering. Also I want to be able to have time to be able to retake it in the event that I don't do as well as I'd hoped.

If I take it after my junior year, will I have to apply right after I get my results in order to be able to enter medical school on time? I'm still not 100% sure on how the application process works :/

efle

not an elf
5+ Year Member
Apr 6, 2014
Status
Medical Student
You could do research/volunteering in the summer after you freshman year though, if you didn't have to cram all these classes into two years by taking summer semesters.