COVID-19; How are you handling getting LOR's?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

physicaltherapyapplicant

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone!!

I had a question to anyone who is applying this cycle OR would just like to offer some advice. First, I'll give some background information to help keep advice in context. I'm a reapplicant this cycle and graduated in December. I currently work as a technician at an outpatient facility. My question/concern is in regards to LOR's. Many schools require 2 PT related LOR's and I'm concerned with being able to get a second LOR that is PT related. I plan on acquiring a LOR from the PT I currently work under and was planning on asking a PT I was shadowing at a pediatric clinic for a second LOR. However, the pediatric clinic has temporarily closed due to COVID. I hope that they will open (safely, of course) in the summer, so that I have a chance to finish my observation experience and hopefully be able to acquire a LOR. However, I am keeping a realistic view of things and if they do choose to open soon I do not see them allowing students to return right away.

I'm keeping up to date with schools that I am going to apply for and while some have made alterations to the requirements due to COVID I don't see any schools altering the PT LOR requirement. Although I have shadowed previously at other facilities and asked for LOR's from those PT's last cycle, I do not want to ask again as it has been over a year and I do not feel these LOR's will be up to par.

How is everyone else handling this situation? Since the clinic I currently work for has multiple facilities across the metroplex, I've wondered if I should spend time at another facility in order to continue gaining observation hours and make connections with other PT's that I could possibly ask for a LOR?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Stay safe!

Members don't see this ad.