Critical Wartime Shortage List

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Steve_Zissou

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Looks like my specialty (diagnostic radiology) was taken off the list so I won’t be receiving the USAR STRAP stipend. Anyone know how often they reassess this? My understanding is that it doesn’t necessarily happen yearly, and can occur more than once a year?

Of note, I’m not going into anesthesia but it seems like anesthesia residents aren’t getting this either, but CRNAs are. Seems odd to me. Other specialties that came off include IM and EM as well as general dentistry.

Members don't see this ad.

Looks like it's time for you to not care, moonlight like a bandit, and GTFO. This is what most of us are doing, and this is what they want.
I’m still an intern, but have plans for moonlighting as soon as I can and possibly tutoring for side cash. Sucks since I was under the impression that the money was already funded, but got turned around once my paperwork was submitted. Paperwork that I had ready months in advance too, but I guess it was a FY budget thing. Oh well. I owe them 8 years from Med school, but I’ll pay off 6 of those while in residency, so if they don’t get me that stipend soon, I’ll just get out sooner.

Members don't see this ad :)
Depends how you got your commission. Did you do MDSSP? Without strap, mdssp obligation payback should start after residency completion.

I’m still an intern, but have plans for moonlighting as soon as I can and possibly tutoring for side cash. Sucks since I was under the impression that the money was already funded, but got turned around once my paperwork was submitted. Paperwork that I had ready months in advance too, but I guess it was a FY budget thing. Oh well. I owe them 8 years from Med school, but I’ll pay off 6 of those while in residency, so if they don’t get me that stipend soon, I’ll just get out sooner.