Current military/future non-trad with questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

acousticallyblu

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 23-year old husband/father-to-be. I graduated from the U.S. Naval Academy with a B.S. in English and a GPA of 3.65. (This English major included more than enough Physics/Chemistry/Calculus to meet the prereqs--hence the "B.S."--and my grades were better in these classes than in English.) I'm currently studying at Nuclear Power School in preparation for submarine duty--the most academically-challenging path I could have chosen, and I'm doing well there too.

Six months into my 5-year commitment, however, I decided I wanted to be a doctor. Right now I think I want to choose a specialty in surgery, but I've been through enough to know that you can't be sure this far ahead. What I do know is that I'm going to med school.

It will be another 5 years before the Navy lets me go, but I'm glad I'm planning ahead. Before I get out, I should be able to find time for O-Chem and Bio (prereqs), but it's going to be tough to do any kind of shadowing or ECs.

I was considering going through the AFHPSP and letting the Navy pay for med school, but after reading the Military Medicine forum, that doesn't look like such a great idea (longer time commitment than I had anticipated, limited residency choices, general unhappiness, etc.). I think I'd rather suck it up and take out loans.

All that said, I have two questions:

1. How do you pay for living expenses during four years of med school? My wife works, but her income isn't enough to support us. Do the loans include money for living expenses, or just tuition/books/etc.?

2. Will my military experience/academic record be sufficient to get in (assuming good MCAT scores), or is there something else I should be doing?

Thanks so much for your input. I found this forum a week ago, and already, it's been invaluable.