sealullaby

2+ Year Member
Jul 31, 2016
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi guys,

First, thank you for taking the time to read this mess. I'm in a bit of a bind because I just learned that I was accepted into NSU, so now I have to make a decision between one of these two schools. I was hoping to get some advice since NSU's deposit is due in 2 weeks. I'd really appreciate it!

CUSOM (tuition+fees= $50,000)
Pros:
  • Great board scores for USMLE!
  • Very friendly faculty and staff and smaller class size
  • Facilities are brand new
  • Already paid deposit
Cons:
  • Very far drive from family (and I hate driving)
  • Very rural area
  • Never been to North Carolina and I don't like snow?
  • Mandatory attendance for all classes (but the students have said that the faculty doesn't care if you pay attention in the class, so a lot of students use that time to study)
NSU (Tuition+Fees= $53,000)
Pros:
  • Close to home (I'm a Florida resident and I want to practice in Florida in the future)
  • Well-established program
  • Residencies are great
  • Only some classes are mandatory
  • International rotations in India, which I'm personally interested in
Cons:
  • Class size is significantly larger, and all the health science programs essentially share one building
  • A little more expensive, and I'm going to assume there's a higher COL in Fort Lauderdale
  • Match list last year was... not entirely sure what the reason for that is, but I heard it had something to do with poor board scores. The dean told us that students are required to pass the COMSAE before taking their exams now so...

It's been a while since my Campbell interview, and I haven't heard much about NSU's program other than that whole thing with their match rate last year. Honestly, the schools and their programs seem verrrry similar to me, which is probably why I'm having a hard time making a decision. I would really appreciate input, especially from students enrolled in the schools!

TurtleyReady4Med

2+ Year Member