CVS or Walmart

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

destinedforgreatness2015

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I am a newbie with a dilemma! I have accepted an full time staff offer with CVS and I have started with the company. However, Walmart is offering a floating position to me now and I don't know what to do. In need of advice! I don't want to burn bridges but I want to be a happy pharmacist!

Members don't see this ad.

How are you going to be "destined for greatness" if you are going to work for CVS or Walmart?

If you want a life you are going to hate, go into retail. I used to intern at a training store and I can tell you none of pharmacists I met actually like retail. Because of them, I told myself I would never do retail. On my last day as an intern, I told myself I will never step a foot in this door again. I was right (so far). I never did.

Find another job. Do it now while you are still young. Don't just settle.

Is dog poo better than cat poo? If you had to make a choice, I would go with Walmart because CVS is...literally...Hitler.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I worked as an intern for CVS throughout pharmacy school and did a rotation at Walmart (in the same town with a very similar workload and clientele). I would say that I would prefer Walmart.

The CVS where I worked and the Walmart where I did my rotation both did about 500-600 scripts daily with the same hours of operation (9 to 9). In terms of staffing, CVS would start with 1 pharmacist and 2 techs whereas the Walmart started with 2 pharmacists and 4-5 techs. CVS had a 4 hour overlap between the 2 pharmacists scheduled for the day. Walmart also had about the same overlap time, but they scheduled the pharmacists so that there was a third pharmacist present so that all of them could actually take a lunch break.