CVS vacation time question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Prestigious808

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,
I’m a new FT pharmacist with CVS. I’m confused with vacation payout and accrued vacation hours.

To note, I never had a full time job before so I’m learning more about my benefits.

I was told I would accrue about 13 hours of vacation later this year. If not used then it’ll be paid out next year. My question is I notice that any hours over 40 is not transferred over and is forfeited. So when they say pay out, does that mean pay out in a bonus check for the 13 hours with my base pay or does that mean the 13 hours I will accrue will transfer over to the 2 week vacation that I’ll accrue next year for 93 vacation hours? Is that how it works where you can keep accumulating vacation hours year after year?

If I do take my paid vacation though this year for the 13 hours, am I being paid out toward my next pay period after I take my vacation?

What’s the difference if I take a partial vacation say 8 hours and have 5 hours that is paid out nextyear?

Last question is, is it better to take the vacation or have it paid out next year?

I know, long post but first FT job so I like to know more about my benefits. Thanks all!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Am not aware vacation accrues/rolls over to next year; usually there is a payout for non-used vacation hours @ end of year (using base pay)
Anything over 40 hours is forfeited/does not roll over (at least how things are done in my district)
Use it or lose it

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
On my most recent paycheck- under time off section, earned ytd 25 hours, balance 44 hours , allocation 60 and taken hours 16. Does this mean I have 44 +25 = 69 hours time off remaining for this year or 25 hours are for next year?

Hello all,