DAT 2021 January Break Down - 21 AA With Booster and Destroyer

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sbirch18

Reaction score
Hi everyone! Long time lurker, first time actually posting. I took my exam on Jan 4, 2021. I wanted to make a post about being in school and doing other stuff while studying, being broke, and show that a good score IS obtainable even without Bootcamp. I scored: 19 PAT/21 RC/18 QR/21 Bio/21 OC/24 GC/21 TS and 21 AA. For some background: I am a junior in college with a 4.0 GPA. I was taking a full course load including microbio and physics 1. I was also working 2 jobs as a CA/RA in the dorms and an office aid, doing research, starting my thesis, traveling to see family because I am an out of state student, and being a boyfriend. I studied through my 21st birthday, halloween, christmas, and new years. I did all of this while studying from early september-early january. I couldn’t afford BC, and really stressed out about how to study for the DAT. Here is my breakdown on how I studied and what I used:

***Disclaimer: I am sure that Bootcamp has worked wonderfully for a lot of people. If I could afford it, I would have used it. I am by no means saying that you shouldn't get it if you can. My situation just did not allow for it.

Bio:
  • Dr. Romano’s Dynamite Review (FREE!!!!): Read through like 1.5 times, would definitely recommend more if you have time. But I also used it to go through the bio portion of Destroyer and would read over sections I was struggling in.
  • Destroyer 2020 (Got as a bday gift, its about 150$): went through once completely, and sporadically the last week of my exam for extra practice. I would do 40+ questions at a time.
  • Feralis notes(FREE)
  • Class notes (I was taking microbio at the time I was studying which helped SO much)
  • Other sources for daily questions (BC, a few IG and FB study pages, etc.)