P

Philip

Hi all, I'm new to the dental application process and I'm confused about the timing of everything.

I'm going to be a junior this fall and if I want to enter dental school in 2008 (and not waste 1 year), would I have to take the DAT and complete the adea application before the end of this year?

I've been reading about some California dental schools, and someone correct me if I'm wrong, but it seems like you have to finish DAT and dental application 2 years before the anticipated year you want to enter dental school(and not waste 1 year)??

For example, if I wanted to apply to UCLA, their deadline is January 1. I would basically have to apply before the end of this year because they say they will tell if you're accepted by December(so I'm in my senior year). Then I would be in dental school the following fall right?

Can you guys tell me if everything I'm saying true?? Thanks!!

djeffreyt

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jun 4, 2006
Dallas
Status
Dentist
You are off by one year.

If you want to enter dental school in Fall of 2008, the you must apply in the summer of 2007. Here's the general timetable:

March 2007
Application cycle for for those applying to dental school for Fall 2007 pretty much closes

May 2007
Online AADSAS Application for those applying for dental school for Fall 2008 opens so you can fill it out

June 2007
Most people start submitting their applications to AADSAS (who checks it over and then forwards it to dental schools)

August 2007
Generally considered a latest you should be taking the DAT so that your application will be looked at by Dental schools early on in the application cycle

August 2007 - March 2008
People start getting calls from schools about submitting secondary applications and coming for interviews

December 2007 - June 2008
People start hearing about acceptances to schools and being waitlisted

Fall 2008
Dental school starts for those who applied and got in.