DAT Breakdown (Bootcamp)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Josh M

Reaction score
Hey everyone! I just took the DAT about two weeks ago! I got a 25AA which was pretty much in line with the rest of my exam scores (more about this below). Just posting a little breakdown to pass on the knowledge that I picked up because these breakdowns were what gave me guidance and motivation during my studying.

Overall study schedule: I used DAT Bootcamp (it was amazing and would recommend to anyone in a heartbeat). I made up my own schedule and studied different topics as I found them to be recurring challenges in my practices. I studied over the course of the summer while working a job and found it to be manageable. I would do lots of practice problems each day using the Quick Study option. If I got the question wrong, I would tag it with red. If I got it right, I would tag it with yellow. As I tagged more and more questions (a little over 4000 by the end), I started to use the “tagged questions” section to review and would try to push my red tags to yellow tags and my yellow tags to green tags. This study strategy allowed me to identify content that is DAT-related that I did not have a strong mastery of. I would then use the lessons on DAT Bootcamp to learn the content I needed to know in each topic that was difficult for me. I would take notes on each one and try to build a well-organized content notes section. I took a full-length practice exam each week (typically Friday at 8 am to simulate my real testing setting). On Saturday and Sunday, I would review this exam in more detail and determine more topics to put on my study list for the upcoming week. I took all 10 full-length exams and felt that they prepared me well for the actual exam.

Scores (Bootcamp average | Real DAT):

AA: 25 | 25

PAT: 20 | 25

QR: 28 | 28

RC: 26 | 22

Bio: 22 | 22

GC: 25 | 25

Orgo: 22 | 27