DAT Breakdown: How a mediocre student made a 23 on the DAT!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DigitalDental

UMN Class of 2023
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I took the DAT the other day and I ended up doing rather well! I'm typing all this up as a warmup for all those essays I'm about to write! I've been using SDN as a resource very often for these last 2 months and I want to give back with this detailed guide. Hope it helps someone!

My DAT Scores:
PAT: 22
QR: 20
RC: 27 :eek:
BIO: 24
G-CHEM: 19 :cryi:
O-CHEM: 23
--------------
TS: 22
AA: 23

So as you know from reading the title, I'm not the best student and I never have been. (I feel no shame saying that. I feel that if you are honest with yourself you can cater to your strengths and weaknesses.) I've struggled with math, chemistry, and biology all my life, from high school all the way into my late college career. I've gotten more C's that I care to count, and I even had to retake a few science courses I bombed in college. Trust me, If I could get this score you can also. I knew that if I wanted to do well on the DAT I would have to give the exam 110% of my effort. So lets get on to how I did that.

Schedule:
- TLDR: I studied 6-7 hours a day 6 days a week for 2 months (65 days.) It hurt my soul but it was worth it in the end.

I was originally dedicated to Ari's 2 month DAT bootcamp plan. I followed it faithfully for 1 entire month (The "study" phase of the plan.) but broke away from it in the 2nd month during the "practice" phase. (I have a few criticisms of that plan that I'll share later.) Essentially, Ari's Bootcamp plan has you study very hard for an entire month before you even touch a practice problem. (PAT excluded.) This approach has its merits, but I also feel that if you are forgetful like me you'll end up forgetting half of the things you learned in the first phase by the time you get to the second phase.