JBarr29

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Aug 15, 2008
Status
Dental Student
I am a graduate student in Biology. I studied while taking a full course load, as well as working 4 days a week, so my schedule was pretty hectic. I studied for about 2 months, but maybe 1 or 2 hours a day if I was lucky.

Materials used: DAT Destroyer, CDP, Campbells Bio (reference), KaplanBB (only for math really) and Cliffs AP Biology.

Breakdown

Biology (22) – I thought most of the questions on the biology section were pretty straightforward. There were of course those oddball questions everyone is always fearful of. There was maybe one taxonomy question out of the 40 where it asked about something I had never really seen before. The other odd ball questions were application questions. Less straightforward, but definitely do-able. I read Cliffs AP Bio through a couple of times. Once I felt like I had most of the stuff down, I went onto the Destroyer Biology. Cliffs really builds a strong understanding of the basic material, and destroyer supplemented with some more difficult questions. There were definitely several questions that were EXTREMELY similar, almost verbatim from destroyer, and many others that were familiar. I think the key to getting the most out of the destroyer bio section is definitely to understand and know the questions, answers AND explanations. Any topic I was uncertain about I referenced back with Campbells. I would also like to say that there was one question I found to be in an unusual format from this section, although it was not very difficult. Basic format was as follows:

An apple is a fruit
An apple is a fruit that grows in the ground

A) Both statements are true
B) Both statements are false
C) The first statement is true, second false……. You get the idea

Wasn't hard, but caught me off guard.