DAT done, need opinions!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

davao4444

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Finally finished my DATs! So im a bit worried about my chances, what do you guys think?

PAT: 21
RC: 20
QR: 18
Bio: 19
GChem: 20
OChem: 19
TS: 19
AA: 19

Personally I thought the scores were not bad but not great
but heres my main problem, my GPA. Its 2.96 cumulative and 2.81 science (from University of Michigan if that matters).

I want to avoid retaking (basically in fear that I might do worse/dont want to put myself through hell again/want to submit aadsas and be done with it) and plan on getting my aadsas ASAP (first week of june at the latest). im sending to 13 schools.. opinions on chances?

and for the curious, all studying purely off kaplan, got the job done.
i felt bio was more specific than what i studied, gchem didnt have as many calculations as i thought it would, pat was way easier but the real thing wasnt as hard as i was expecting it to be.

thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I would say that those scores are pretty solid if your GPA wasnt so low. Having a GPA under 3.0 is a pretty big hurtle to get over and I think you need to either retake the DAT (dont konw if that would even help that much unless you scored >23) or do some sort of masters program or something to raise your GPA. If you dont mind me asking, why is your GPA so low, those are solid scores on your DAT and they just dont match up with that GPA.

You should probably consider the followings to boost your chances:

1. Apply early.
2. Apply to 20+ schools. Make sure you pick the right ones as well.
3. Postac with more upper division science classes.
4. SMP.
5. Retake and get a 22+.

Good luck!

You did good, so I don't know if you should retake.
How would you compare each section from Kaplan to the real thing.
Kaplan practice test scores?
Thanks

Members don't see this ad :)